FREE shipping starts on orders over $99 to most locations in Canada.

Marianne Faithfull - Negative Capability

Regular price $24.00

Normally ships within 5-10 business days. (More info)
Need a quick gift? Check out our digital gift cards.


Negative Capability is the twenty-first studio album by British singer and songwriter Marianne Faithfull. It was released on 2 November 2018, and produced by Rob Ellis, Warren Ellis and Head. Described as her "most honest album", songs on Negative Capability deal with themes of love, death, as well as terrorism and loneliness. She revisits three old recordings: "It's All Over Now, Baby Blue" from Rich Kid Blues, recorded in 1971 under the title Masques, which is her 'lost' album and was not released until 1985; "Witches Song", from 1979's comeback album Broken English; and "As Tears Go By", which started her career as a 17-year-old. Faithfull recorded it for the second time aged 40 on 1987's Strange Weather. The rest of the songs are, with one exception, all new and co-written by Faithfull with help from some of her long time collaborators like Nick Cave and Ed Harcourt. The "Loneliest Person" is a cover of a Pretty Things composition from their 1968 album S.F. Sorrow.

The lead single, "The Gypsy Faerie Queen", was released on 14 September 2018.

Release info

Label: Panta Rei 538421761
Format: Vinyl, LP, Album
Country: Europe
Released: 2018
Genre: Rock, Pop


A1 Misunderstanding
A2 The Gypsy Faerie Queen
A3 As Tears Go By
A4 In My Own Particular Way
A5 Born To Live
B1 Witches' Song
B2 It's All Over Now, Baby Blue
B3 They Come At Night
B4 Don't Go
B5 No Moon In Paris

Close (esc)

Join the herd

Subscribe to our newsletter and get 10% off your first purchase.

Age verification

By clicking enter you are verifying that you are old enough to consume alcohol.

Shopping Cart

Your cart is currently empty.
Shop now