Discounted shipping starts on orders over $76. Shipping in Canada is FREE for orders over $99! (Read more)

Happy anniversary to us! We're applying a 15% discount on all orders until June 7th.

Okkervil River - Away (LP, Album)

Regular price $25.00


Okkervil River is an American rock band led by singer-songwriter Will Sheff. Formed in Austin, Texas, in 1998, the band takes its name from a short story by Russian author Tatyana Tolstaya set on the river Okkervil in Saint Petersburg. They began as a trio made up of Sheff and friends he had met in his native state of New Hampshire but, over time, have gone through many lineups. Okkervil River self-released their first album, Stars Too Small to Use, which led them to the South by Southwest music festival. After recording their first album in a garage, they signed with Jagjaguwar. They continued by releasing four more albums, including the critically lauded concept album Black Sheep Boy.After a period of touring for Black Sheep Boy, Okkervil River followed up with The Stage Names. The album sold 10,000 in its opening week in the United States. The group released a free covers album, Golden Opportunities Mixtape from their live performances.The band has garnered positive critical reception. They have appeared on the talk show Late Night with Conan O'Brien and have performed with acts such as The Decemberists, The New Pornographers, The National, and Lou Reed. Okkervil River released the album The Stand Ins in 2008. They promoted the release with a series of cover songs from the album on YouTube by people they've met as a band. Their 2010 collaboration as a backing band with psychedelic rocker Roky Erickson yielded True Love Cast Out All Evil. In 2011, Okkervil River released their sixth full-length album, I Am Very Far, which peaked at No. 32 on the Billboard 200. The band released their seventh album, The Silver Gymnasium, in 2013. The album peaked at No. 66 on the Billboard 200. This was followed by the album, Away, which was released in 2016 on ATO Records. Their ninth album, In the Rainbow Rain, was released by ATO in 2018.

Release Info

Artist: Okkervil River
Label: ATO Records
Format: LP, Album
Country: US
Label: ATO Records
Released: 2016-09-09
Genre: Rock
Style: Indie Rock


A1 Okkervil River R.I.P.
A2 Call Yourself Renee
A3 The Industry
B1 Comes Indiana Through The Smoke
B2 Judey On A Street
B3 She Would Look For Me
C1 Mary On A Wave
C2 Frontman In Heaven
C3 Days Spent Floating (In The Halfbetween)
D1 Away

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
Close (esc)

Join the herd

Subscribe to our newsletter and get 10% off your first purchase.

Age verification

By clicking enter you are verifying that you are old enough to consume alcohol.

Shopping Cart

Your cart is currently empty.
Shop now